Feed your skin!

Greetings beauties!

If you can’t eat it, don’t put it on your skin”  The first time I read that quote (on Dr. Alkaitis’s website) I didn’t think much of it (no offense to the author!).  The more I thought about it, the more I found it was profound.  I had what Oprah would call an “ah-ha” moment!  If we consider that skin is our largest organ, then it makes perfect sense that we should protect it, treat it as a living, breathing being, and feed it with natural, fresh, raw and live ingredients that are going to keep it in its optimal state.  I’ve become an avid label reader and I pick products with nourishing and healing ingredients that will keep my skin healthy in the long run.

Of course, we know healthy skin begins inside, by eating the right foods.  Skincare implements what clean eating, exercise and a healthy lifestyle do. But don’t you love it when you find products your skin can literally eat?!

Each of these products contains a special food ingredient you can eat or drink everyday! Bon appétit!

 

Green Tea

Brand: Aenon’s

Product: Green Tea +Aloe face oilAenons (16) Pic Monkey

Benefits:  We all know green tea has detoxification benefits, it aids in weight loss, it’s anticarcinogenic,  and it helps against stress and fatigue.  Sipping tea is not the only way you can get it to nourish your skin.  Applied to skin, green tea can also work wonders! I promise, there’s no splashing tea all over your face! Green Tea+Aloe Face oil has a lightweight texture, so it makes it easier for your skin to absorb and there’s no greasy feeling.  I use it during the day and it really helps if you have dry eczema like me.  I had to be patient with this one, results were not instant. I felt and saw a noticeable difference after a solid 3 weeks of constant use (1-2 times a day).  Depending on your skin type and condition, it might take more or less.  I’m glad I stuck with it, because it made a world of difference! My doctor had prescribed an ointment (laden with skin irritants), but I used this oil instead. The frustrating aspect of my eczema is the fact that it’s dry and  that I  can barely see it.  But it’s there because I feel the itchiness and the burning sensation, which is alarming to me. Thankfully, this oil worked really well for my skin!  It reduced the itching and calmed my skin’s burning sensation. I love using it with the Immortelle facial toner from the same brand which has healing properties.  If you have dry, itchy, irritated skin, this oil is for you!

Ingredients: Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf (and) Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf (and) Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Leaf Infused Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Cannabis Sativa (Hemp) Seed Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Sambucus Nigra (Elderberry) Fruit Extract, Essential Oil Blend, Tocopherol.

Price: 42$/30ml

Prickly Pear

Brand: Kahina Giving Beauty

Product: Prickly Pear Seed OilKahina Giving Beauty Prickley pear seed oil Pic Monkey

Benefits:  Have you ever eaten a barbary fig/prickly pear or a cactus pear? It’s really good for you! It’s shaped like a pear, ranges in color from yellow to deep red or purple.  It’s a great source of fiber, so it helps your digestive system. This Kahina Prickly pear seed oil is a superstar! It’s really been a powerhouse for my skin. I tested it for several months. It really does it all!  The Prickly pear seed oil is the only ingredient (here’s to less being MORE!), and if you’re familiar with Kahina, you know it’s pure! We already know this brand for its high quality and fair-trade argan oil.  It’s unlike any I’ve tried, it’s so smooth and silky. The Prickly Pear Seed oil is just as smooth, but a bit richer than the argan oil.  Although, you can use this day and night, I use it for my nighttime routine so I can reap fresh, radiant skin in the morning. My skin is really dry and thus far, this oil is one of the few products that keeps my skin moisturized throughout the night…and day. My skin feels less tight, less itchy, more supple and smooth. I use on damp face after a few spritzes of the Kahina Toning mist.  A little goes a long way! Basically, if I were to be stranded on a deserted island, I’d want to have this oil with me!

Ingredient: opuntia ficus indica (prickly pear seed) oil*

*Ingredient from Organic Farming, 100% Organic and Natural

Price: 38$/10ml and 150$/50ml

Plums

Brand: Napa Valley Organics (Agribeauty)

Product: Plum Kernel OilNapa Valley Organics Pic Monkey

Benefits: This oil is cold-pressed from the seed of California prune and is rich in Vitamins A and E, oleic acid, beta-carotene and essential and non-essential fatty acids.  It’s a great everyday treatment oil and also a great carrier oil, so you can add to your creams or body scrubs.  In general, plum oil might not be very trendy, but it’s notorious for culinary purposes. Founder of Napa Organics, Hilary Glass uses local agriculture ingredients to create her Agribeauty line.  The very essence of this brand stems from nature; everything we need to care for our skin should be simple, raw and unprocessed. The Plum oil is perfect for dry skin, and especially if you have sensitive, mature and acne prone skin.  It has a light scent of plum and almond. It seals in moisture (which is what I mostly need). I use this after exfoliation with Prune and Walnut face scrub and my skin is renewed and refreshed. Also great for hair and nails. An multi-purpose face oil and a definite must-have!

Ingredients: 100% California grown Plum Kernel oil

Price: 32$/30ml

Berries

Brand: Graydon Skincare (Clinical Luxury by Nature)

Product: The SerumGraydon The Serum by Pic Monkey

Benefits: I love berries: blueberries, strawberries, cranberries, raspberries, etc.  Whether they are raw, juiced or in my smoothies, they are yummy! They keep us full, protect our cells from free radicals, prevent diseases and give our brain a boost. I am loving this serum which you can read more on, here. It contains 50 pounds of fresh Canadian berries (in 30 ml). When I use this serum, I make sure not to forget my neck. Consistent use of this serum will help you keep your skin’s youthful appearance and natural radiance.  It just makes your skin feel and look healthy. I use in conjunction with the Face Food mist, which you’ll read about in other posts.

Ingredients: cold pressed blueberry seed oil (vaccinum myrtillus), cold pressed cranberry seed oil (vaccinium macrocarpon), cold pressed red raspberry seed oil (rubus idaeus), meadowfoam seed oil (limnanthes alba), grapefruit seed extract (citrus grandis) and nothing else!

Price: 46$/30ml

 

Final thought…

These products speak volume about what eating healthy can do for our skin. I love using any of these products at any given time, but the key is discipline and consistency in your skincare routine.

Stay tuned for Part 2 soon! More yummy products to come on Ready, Set, Glow!

 

In the meantime, feed your skin…and soul!

with love,

Alex xo

 

*PR samples 

11 thoughts on “Feed your skin!

  1. These sound great! I’d love to try the new Kahina Giving Beauty Prickly Pear Seed Oil and thanks for the introduction to Aenon’s Green Tea +Aloe face oil, which sounds amazing.

    • Thank you so much for reading! Yes, you can’t miss with both these oils. With Kahina, you can start with the 10ml format, it lasts a long time. And Aenon’s will be great for the spring too! Love xo

  2. All of those sound amazing! Been eyeing the Kahina Prickly Pear for awhile! 🙂 Great post, can’t wait for the next one! 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

