Brand Spotlight: Laurel Whole Plant Organics

Greetings beauties!

This is my first Brand Spotlight blogpost in a series of many more to come (hopefully), where I will feature brands that epitomize the very definition of Green Beauty. My first choice is, in my opinion, the essence of green beauty: Laurel Whole Plant Organics !

 

“As we are awakening and learning where our food comes from, this is also a time to be aware of where our skin care comes from, how its made, and what is in it. The most effective skin care is raw, organic, farm sourced, handcrafted and made with love. It’s time to raise the bar for skin care ingredients.”  

Laurel_AboutFounder-e1408502047441

The radiant Laurel Shaffer, founder of LWPO

– Laurel Shaffer, founder of Laurel Whole Plant Organics

 

Laurel Whole Plant Organics is a cult-favorite among bloggers, magazines’s editors, and skincare junkies everywhere… and with good reason!  I have been longing to try some of the products ever since the brand was under the Sequoia Beauty banner.

From Sequoia Beauty to Laurel Whole Plant Organics…

From Sequoia to Laurel Whole Plant Organics

Left: Sequoia Beauty Right: Laurel Whole Plant Organics

One of the changes from Sequoia Beauty is obviously the packaging. Personally,  I much prefer the current packaging to the former one. Sequoia Beauty’s packaging was cute, but the LWPO’s package looks more sophisticated, refined, less amateur-ish.  Natural beauty, sweetheart and founder Laurel Shaffer wanted a packaging that clearly reflected its content. To that I say: “Mission accomplished!” Aside from the packaging, the major shift from Sequoia is the elimination of lotions in favor of balms, which was a bold move, but a smart one! I, for one, love balms! Because I have such dry skin, I tend to gravitate towards them. I’m all about the balms!!  In addition to the balms, Laurel altered most of the original formulas, taking into consideration new plant sciences and discoveries, not yet available 4 years ago, when Sequoia was created. Just recently, LWPO launched an Eye Serum.  If you’re wondering what the difference is between the the Eye Balm and the Eye serum, keep in mind that both are great and can be used depending on your own skin type and skin needs. However, Laurel suggests using the Eye serum during the day and the Eye balm at night.

“Whole Plant Organics”, what does that mean?

What makes this brand unique is that Laurel strives to create 100% ‘whole plant’ organic formulas.  That means the plants maintain their vibrancy, as if they were just plucked from the earth.  The ingredients cannot be chemically refined in anyway, as she feel that only dulls their efficacy. She and her team only accept certified organic ingredients, as they have an average of 40% more antioxidant content.  She also doesn’t use ‘natural’ ingredients that are actually synthetic, like ascorbic acid, CoQ10, Hyaluronic Acid, Vitamin E, and others… ALL of those ingredients can be found in the living plants that we use, so they prefer to formulate with that in mind.

Plants Love Science

Laurel-Antioxidant-Face-Serum-440x1024 red heart

Plants Love Science

On every Laurel WPO’s label, you’ll notice a red heart and the words “Plant”, “Love” and “Science” written below the heart.  These words are Laurel’s guidelines, she translates them into 3 major aspects: Purity (Plants), Efficacy (Science) and Love. For Laurel, the purity and efficacy aspects go hand in hand;  the purer the ingredient and formula, the more effective the product. Period.  And the love aspect is so important!  Laurel is deeply dedicated to creating a facial experience that truly transports people and takes them away. She wants us to feel loved and taken care of when using her products.  Again, I say: “mission accomplished!” It may sound corny, but every time I use Laurel’s products, I feel like I just pampered my skin, as I would take care of a loved one.  I feel like I matter, and when you use products that make you feel loved, you feel good about yourself.  Love conquers all, right!

Laurel’s #1 Beauty tip

Laurel believes that less is more! I wholeheartedly agree with that statement! Laurel loves single ingredients such as rosewater, honey and unrefined oils. She also believes in the power of caring for our skin with love and proper skincare.

Final thought…

What attracts me to LWPO is the inherent dedication and passion to educate and inspire women to use skincare as an act of self care and of self love, not to mention that she uses the most cutting edge studies to formulate her products. I honestly trust Laurel’s integrity, so I’m confident that her products are pure and efficient.  Laurel WPO is in alignment with my personal values, not to mention that the products have become essentials in my routine. I have tested many, many, many brands and products since I started blogging (and even before that!) I can assure you, Laurel WPO is one of the most comprehensive lines I’ve seen. And, something tells me it’s only the beginning!

Stay tuned for upcoming reviews on select LWPO products!

Regards,

Alex xo

*All pictures, courtesy of http://www.laurelskin.com

What are your favorite products of Laurel Whole Plant Organics?

 

14 thoughts on “Brand Spotlight: Laurel Whole Plant Organics

    • Hi my Dovey!
      Thank you for your support as always! I know, Laurel is a sweetheart! I love you, Tara, so proud of you, I celebrate you everyday when I pray. I count you twice as a blessing! Love xo

  1. laurel (actually sequoia!) was the first regimen of skincare that helped once and for all toss the benzoid peroxides, alcohol laden skin care items and my skin thanks me. I love putting the face serum on after my shower in the morning. I currently use her face wash, nourish serum and eye balm. Love it all

  2. Hello sweetness, a line truly unique, it is true you feel pampered when you use it, I hope soon we can easily find even for the European market, fell in love.

Leave a Reply

